Living Below The Line Challenge

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/ca

Today I began the 5 day challenge Living Below The Line – trying to live on $1.75 a day here in Canada. (Our food is more expensive than other countries who may use $1.50/ day)

I know it’s not a true example of what it means to live below the poverty line, because I have the choice to go back to my regular array of foods
at any time. But it does help me to be more aware of what others must
experience on a daily basis. I feel so grateful for what I have, and it
makes me want to be more generous in sharing with those in need.

In some ways, this challenge is easier for me than it would be for most
privileged people. After I became very ill as a result of pesticide poisoning,
there were times when I could only tolerate 5 different foods. One learns to be creative in finding variations of how to eat yams, for instance.

I am using this time as a review of gathering edible plants from the wild
that are available in our area. Since they are free and sustainable, I
will add them to my menu for extra nutrition and flavor in what will soon
become a drab boring diet.

I started the day with some lemon balm (melissa) tea that I picked right
outside our door. It is easy to grow and I have transplants from one
single plant all over our garden for interest and as a insect repellant.

It’s getting light outside so I’m getting ready to go wildcrafting and see
what our forest and garden has to offer me today.
I’ll keep you posted.

2 thoughts on “Living Below The Line Challenge

Leave a Reply

