Living Below The Line Challenge – After Thoughts

lotus  73dd6e5557afb702a4c295a5e9d66523

The beloved Thich Nhat Hanh was once asked:
“What do we most need to do to save our world?”
Those questioning him probably expected him to
share specific strategies to pursue. But instead
he answered: “What we most need to do is to
hear within ourselves the sounds of the Earth crying.”

Yesterday I completed the 5 day challenge to live below the poverty line
that is the daily experience for 1 billion people on earth. For me, this
challenge opened up a greater awareness of the obstacles people
living in poverty must face every day. It made me grateful for everything
I have – without taking anything for granted. It inspired me to use my
imagination to creatively find ways to live with less – so that more can
be shared with those in need. It kept me in reliance at a deeper level
of Holy Presence, moment by moment.

But the greatest gift from this challenge is the re-affirmation that our
greatest joy in life is found through loving and serving one another in whatever way we feel called to put love into action. Whenever I listen deeply through the silence ~ the words I hear coming through the Spirit are:

“My people are crying, you need to help them.”

That is the challenge I continually take into my Christ Path.
And let me tell you, it is not a burden at all . . . it is JOY found
in the gift of a life lived to its fullest, in the power of a Presence
greater than ourselves . . . it is the purpose and the passion
for which each one of us is created . . . and the fruit that it bears
is for the healing of the world.

Photo at: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/543668986236566582/

Leave a Reply

