I Take To Myself

HSS eb501482709d376dcf15e4177abf151e

I take to myself
my broken self:
my guilt, my peace,
my folly and joy,
my sickness, my health,
in laughter and agony,
hating and loving,
my fear and my birthing –
and I am made whole.

I take to myself
you, my neighbor,
cupping your life
within my hands:
your broken self
pure gift to me;
not burden, gift,
as mine to you –
and I am made whole.

I take to myself
you, broken Earth;
stripped and abused,
paved over and poisoned,
you mother so freely,
abundant in grace:
clasp in your mercy,
surprise into tears –
and I am made whole.

I take to myself
your broken self,
my dear, near God;
broken for broken,
for lost and for spent.
As fragmented love
and nectar of life,
you come, gentle God –
and I am made whole.

~ Bill Johnston

Photo at: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/543668986243914428/

4 thoughts on “I Take To Myself

Leave a Reply

