Where Silence Reigns

Dove 52518f21e45f8f1acebf20287638d0e7

“Holy Spirit, You brood over all the space
where silence reigns.”
~ Donna Schaper, in Stir Up Your Power

Let me fall into this space where silence reigns
to feel the breath of the Spirit resting upon me.
In this circle of silence there is safety . . .
There is peace.

In this circle of silence, how shall I prepare the
way of the Lord?
What shall be my spiritual practice today?
What ritual shall I use to focus on the
coming of Christ . . . to understand Your grace?
Shall I sing one song – as a mantra, repeating
the message over and over until the words overcome
the distractions of the world and sing through me?
Shall I gaze upon the beauty of the new fallen snow
on yonder mountain and rejoice in the purity of grace?
One thing I know . . . in the silence there is the
necessity of emptying . . . of cleansing the beggar’s bowl
so that something new can come to me.
Empty out the rubbish . . . the negativity . . . the abuse. . .
that God’s love may fill my soul. . .
and in the silent stillness all is peace.

~ Prayers of Anna Lin, Advent Journal 2002

Photo on Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Where Silence Reigns

Leave a Reply

