The Harvest Of God: Feasting On Your Theophanies

TH c794a59bc1cbe86f3d795da6a7998de6TH  73814ae71267a94e422216497593ac36TH e7e6de54a729a9cf1f143168a84c666a

It was only a small wind
rather gentle, like a breeze.
It blew a strand of hair across my forehead
and I knew that it was God.

I was awakened by a tiny gleam of light
it slipped through my curtain, onto my face.
It drew me to my feet and on to the window
Drawing back the curtains
dawn stepped softly into my room.
I knew that it was God.

In the middle of my loneliness
the phone rang.
A voice I knew so well, said,
“Hello, I love you.”
Love stirred in my soul
I knew that it was God.

Rain fell gently on the thirsty ground.
Slowly, carefully, steadily it came
to an earth parched with waiting.
Through those holy raindrops
I walked, unafraid — without an umbrella.
I knew that it was God.

It was only a little bitterness I thought
but it wouldn’t leave my heart.
It hung around my soul for ages
until a storm came, violent and terrifying.
It shook me to the depths of my being
and blew all the bitterness away.
I knew that it was God.

It was only a Silver Maple
but in the morning’s sunlight
It was filled with heaven.
I stood in a trance
as one touched by angel wings.
I knew that it was God.

O God, I cried,
Endearing One, I love you!
You cannot hide from me.
Between the cracks of daily life
I find you waiting
to be adored.
You slip into my life
like night and day
like stars and sunshine.
I know that you are God.

~ Macrina Wiederkehr

16 thoughts on “The Harvest Of God: Feasting On Your Theophanies

  1. Thanks for sharing that. I really like Macrina Wiederkehr’s work. Interestingly, in everything that happens she writes that she knew it was God. Just this week I’ve been reading how many in this age, sadly, ‘distance’ themselves from deep things and write something like ‘it was like God was in the breeze’ etc rather than God was/is,the breeze. So, thanks for sharing those great words, and great photographs, too.

    • Thanks for your insights, Tadhg. As a mystic ~ I see God in everything, but in my writings am sometimes told it sounds like pantheism. . . when in fact, I am honoring and worshiping the Creator not the creation. Perhaps that is why some say ‘it was LIKE God was in the breeze’.

Leave a Reply

