All That The Earth Provided

DSCF1388

So this was what the Earth provided on my prayer walk this morning.
I realize how blessed I am to be in this lush environment and at this
time of year when so much is readily available. Most people would not have the luxury of these FREE food items; nor the means to cook them, as I will do.

I took courses on herbology many years ago (blessings to Sheelagh McKenzie); so I have the advantage of knowing which plants are edible and safe to eat, and the medicinal qualities they will provide.
It’s time to prepare my meal for the day. If it weren’t so mild out,
I’d do it on our woodstove. But I’ll use our electric stove to make pea soup now.

Here’s what I gathered: nettles, cleavers, dandelion greens, fireweed shoots, chickweed, turkey tail mushrooms
culinary herbs that have grown here for years and are sustainable:
celeriac, marjoram, rosemary, wild oregano, dill, mint, sage, chives, parsley, thyme
overwintered in greenhouse or outside: purple brocolli, chard, lettuces,
garlic, green onion tops, viola and nasturtium flowers
and wood betony (for possible headache from no caffeine)

2 thoughts on “All That The Earth Provided

  1. what a delightful array of natures bounty…just got to know where to look. The islands are so fortunate in having a low population, Richmond i a sooo full of people and pollution..enjoy your goodies…Lynda

Leave a Reply

