Keeping Silence

The LORD is in His Holy Temple
Let all the earth keep silence before Him
Keep silence
Keep silence
Before Him.

On this day, I am remembering this prelude to prayer that I learned as a young girl.
Being an overactive child with ADHD, I didn’t appreciate the idea of “keeping silence”.
The truth is, I still  have a tendency to want to experience ALL of life ~ sometimes leading me into a frenzy of over-doing, over-achieving, over-activity.

But I’ve learned to balance the active life with a quiet, reflective time every morning.
This sacred time of keeping silence renews and inspires my heart and soul each day.In the silence, all the busyness of life falls away ~ and I am aware of the Presence of the LORD in the Holy Temple of my heart.
Here I can listen to the healing soul streams that flow through me and to the world.
In the silence, I can know the tasks I am called to do for this day.
In the silence, I can simply be still and know that I am dearly loved.

The LORD is in His Holy Temple
Let all the earth keep silence before Him.

Leave a Reply

